Ghost yarnbomb

2015-10-30 07.46.08 2015-10-30 14.13.33

This morning I installed my fourth yarnbomb (not counting all the hearts I’ve dropped for #yarnifiedlovebomb in between). It was a while since I yarnbombed anything, but this week I was feeling rather down and yarnbombing gives me energy. So I decided to make more time for it. Life has a habbit of running by to fast…  and sometimes we forget to make time for what gives us energy.

After blogging about my previous yarnbomb earlier this week, I wanted to bomb something right away. Which meant that it couldn’t take up too much time, since it’s a workweek and I’m pretty beat up in the evenings. That ruled out any form of amigurumi. Since Halloween was coming up I decided to try and make a little ghost. I had a pacman-ghost in mind… and he turned out pretty cute 😉

I installed him in a rather busy street, near one of the biggest touristic highlights of Gent. That means that he might not make it that long, but because he’s holiday themed, that might be OK. Though I hope he at least equals Mr. Wazowski (who’s still up after 25 weeks!!), I’m not betting any money on it 🙂

As usual: here’s the free pattern if you decide to yarnbomb one of your own. Or just use the him as an appliqué – could work as well 😉

I used a crochet hook 4,5mm and quite thick yarn.

1. With white yarn, chain 8.
2. 2sc in second chain from hook, 6sc, 2sc in last stitch (9)
3. 1 chain, turn. 2sc in first stitch, 7sc, 2sc in last stitch (11)
4. 1 chain, turn. 2sc in first stitch, 9sc, 2sc in last stitch (13)
5. 1 chain, turn. 2sc in first stitch, 11sc, 2sc in last stitch (15)
6- 20: 1 chain, turn, 15 sc (15)
21. chain 3, turn. 2tr in the first stitch, 2dc in the next, 1hdc in the next, 2dc in the next, 2tr in the next, slip stitch in the next two stitches, hdc in the next, 2dc in the next, 2tr in the next, slip stitch in the next two stitches, 2tr in the next stitch, 2dc in the next, 1hdc in the next and end with another slip stitch in the last stitch.

Now crochet around the edge of your ghost, with sc’s. Only make 3sc on the tips of his “flaps”. Do not add 3 sc’s anywhere else 😉 Join to the first sc with a slip stitch, fasten off and leave a long tail for sewing.

The eyes: with black, magic ring and sc’s into it. Use white yarn and a french knot to make the eyes.

I used a navy blue rectangle to attach him to. Made it 22cm wide (depends on the object you’re attaching it too, remember, always make it at least 2cm smaller, yarn stretches!). I used 8 rows of hdc.

Sew your little ghost onto the rectangle and go yarnbomb 😉

Let me know if you make one of these, or if you use the ghost for anything else – I’d be happy to see your work!

2015-10-27 22.33.14

I’m already working on the next yarnbomb – in my mind that is 😉 Know exactly what it’s going to be – keep in touch on Instagram if you’d like to see progress!

One thought on “Ghost yarnbomb

Leave a comment